BaySail's info

BaySail's Mission

>> To foster environmental stewardship of the Saginaw Bay Watershed and the Great Lakes ecosystem and to provide personal development opportunities for learners of all ages through ship board and land based educational experiences. <<

  • Bay City, MI

2015 Bay City Sailing Schedule

 

All sails depart from Downtown Bay City, Wenonah Park (Unless Otherwise Noted) (view map)

 
Legends of the Saginaw Sails

Adults $37, Students $27
Learn the fascinating history of the Saginaw River as the Appledore sails from Downtown Bay City out to the Saginaw Bay. Once out on the open water, help the crew set the sails or relax and enjoy the view. A light lunch with a sub sandwich, chips, cookie and a drink is served underway.

Saturday, May 23 - 11:00 a.m. to 2: 00 p.m.

Saturday, June 6 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 7 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Friday, July 3 - 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 4 - 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 4 - 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 5 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 11 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

*Saturday, July 18 - 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.*

*Saturday, July 18 - 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.*

Sunday, July 19 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. *

*Sunday, July 19 - 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.*

Saturday, August 15 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 29 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 30 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 5 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 6 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Monday, September 7 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 12 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 13 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 19 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 20 - 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

* Will depart from VETERANS MEMORIAL PARK on the west side of the Saginaw River *

BBQ Dinner Sails

Adults $45, Students $35

Join us on this family friendly sail for a fun evening of sailing and a casual BBQ meal. Call for menu details and reservations or use the link below to book online. Dress is casual.

Friday, July 3 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 5 - 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Friday, July 10 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

*Friday, July 17 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.*

*Saturday, July 18 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.*

Thursday, July 30 - 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Friday, August 14 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, August 27 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Friday, September 4 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Friday, September 11 - 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

*Will depart from VETERANS MEMORIAL PARK on the west side of the Saginaw River*

Dinner Sails

Adults $70

Join us for an unforgettable evening of sailing on the Saginaw Bay. Enjoy the sails, the sunset, and a delicious dinner. Dress is casual. Most departures include live maritime music. Dress is casual. Call for reservations or click the link below to reserve online.

Saturday, June 13 - 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 11 - 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 5 - 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 12 - 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 19 - 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

 

Bay City Fireworks Festival

Adults $100 (21+ Only)

Appledore IV is the place to be for the ultimate VIP experience for Bay City Fireworks Festival 2015. To celebrate the grand finale, guests will enjoy an evening sail on the Saginaw Bay with dinner served onboard. After the sail, guests will enjoy dessert, beer, wine, and the fireworks display from the BaySail VIP dock in Wenonah Park. Dress is casual.

Saturday, July 4 - 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

 

 

 
Perseid Meteor Shower Sail

Adults $37, Students $27

For those in the northern hemisphere, the annual August Perseid meteor shower ranks as the favorite meteor shower of the year. On a dark moonless night you can often see 50 or more meteors per hour! Astronomers from the Delta College Planetarium will be aboard for a live presentation about the Perseid shower.

Wednesday, August 12 - 10:00 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. (August 13)

 
Stargazer & Moonlight Dinner Sails

Adults $80
Featuring a special live program presented onboard the Appledore IV by astronomers from the Delta College Planetarium. Stargazer Sails view constellations, listen to star legends, learn to navigate by the stars, hear the words of poets, and enjoy the beauty of the night sky under sail. Moonlight Sails explore moon phases, listen to moon legends, and view the beauty of the moon in the night sky. A delicious dinner served onboard. Dress is casual.

Friday, July 31 - 8:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. (Moonlight)

Saturday, August 15 - 8:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. (Stargazer)

Saturday, August 29 - 8:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. (Moonlight)

Saturday, September 26 - 8:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. (Moonlight)

Family Ecology Sails

Adults $35, Students $20

A unique and interactive learning experience for parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and students. Bring the whole family onboard to learn about our ecosystem and the watershed(s) we all live, work, and play in. A light snack, juice, and water is included.

Sunday, July 12 - 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Tuesday, July 28 - 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 16 - 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

 

 

 
Tawas Bay Day Sails

Adults $35, Students $25

For a limited time in 2015, Appledore IV will offer day sails to the public from the East Tawas state dock. Call our office for more details of click the link below to book online. These sails depart from the East Tawas State Dock at 113 Newman Street.

Friday, July 24 - 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 25 - 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 25 - 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 25 - 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 25 - 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Friday, August 21 - 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 22 - 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 22 - 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 22 - 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 22 - 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

 

 

 

Plein Air Art Discovery Cruises

Adults & Students $35

Dive into outdoor art with novice and professional artists aboard Appledore IV. Watercolor supplies are provided. Artists are welcome to bring their own preferred supplies. After the cruise, artists are invited to finish their work at Studio 23.

Monday, July 20 - 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Monday, September 21 - 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

 

Order Online!

 
Autumn Color Tour River Cruises

Adults $37, Students $27
In October, as the leaves begin to change and the temperature starts to cool, the Appledore IV changes course and we begin our popular two-hour autumn color tour cruises. Cruising upriver on the Saginaw River, passengers will enjoy hot cider, chili and cornbread while keeping a sharp eye for Bald Eagles, Snowy Egrets, and of course the lovely colors. Cozy quilts available too!

Saturday, October 3 - 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 3 - 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 4 - 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 4 - 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 10 - 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 10 - 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 11 - 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 11 - 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 17 - 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 17 - 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 18 - 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 18 - 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

 

 

 

Tickets also available by calling:

989-895-5193

Visa, Mastercard, and Discover accepted.

.

 

"My husband and I went on your BBQ sail last Thursday evening and LOVED IT!   It was beautiful and peaceful.  The crew were gracious hosts and the food was great.   We have recommended it to several friends already. " -Pamela Russell